Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Mental Health Teams/CPNs

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hey guys

Am just after a bit of advice from you anyone that can help really.

I've been struggling badly now for some time with OCD, emetophobia, anxiety and depression. I was formally diagnosed by a psychiatrist in September 2005, and it was estimated I'd had the OCD/Emet since I was about 4 years old.

Things have got progressively worse over the last few months for me - I graduated from Uni with my PGCE in July, but had really suffered while I was studying - everything got too much. I've been out of work since I left Uni, partly because I've been unsuccessful with applications etc, but also partly because I don't feel well enough to work in the current state I'm in. My body weight is very low due to the emetophobia currently.

After years of not being able to claim benefits, I found out I qualified for income support and incapacity benefit and applied for them - but had to go to the Drs to get a sick note to confirm my illness. I went to see a different Dr who gave me the sick note but was horrified to find out that no-one had been checking on me or looking after me since my last psych appt 18 months ago (the Dr I'd seen previous to this refused to put me on a waiting list for CBT or NHS Psychiatry as she said it was too long and wasn't worth it - and told me if I wanted to see a psych I'd have to pay!). She's put in an immediate referral to the Community Mental Health Team with regard to getting me assessed as soon as possible (yay for different Drs!) but didn't really explain much about what would happen.

Has anyone on here got experience of CMHT and what they do and what would happen to me on a first appointment?

Sorry for the long ramble - any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Love Cavegirl
xx