Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Christmas Stress

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Does anyone find buying stuff stressful at Christmas? Never mind the queues in shops, decorating the house without it looking too tacky or too underdone or your granny getting pissed and making a tit of herself (the old flase teeth trick)
But nowadays you have to work out what to buy without looking like a cheapskate. I think anything less than £20 (e.g. giving a HMV voucher) looks miserly (which is bad because I am a student = poor) What would you consider cheap?

Comments

• Options
    littlemissylittlemissy Posts: 9,972 Supreme Poster
    You can get some nice gifts for under £20. Nobody needs to know how much you spent. If you get a well thought out gift that is appreciated then it doesn't matter if you spent £2.50 or £250. Don't just go into a shop and buy candles for all the girls and lynx for all the guys (which is what my brother normally does :yeees: )

I am in a good position financially at the moment so I have spent quite a bit on my people (and I am only buying for 4). But it doesn't matter how much I have spent as I know that my presents are things that they will all appreciate and enjoy.
  • Options
    I go with the theory that it's the thought that counts.

And if people think Im being "cheap" with my presents then they dont deserve me spending my money on them in the first place.

Im guilty of going overboard at Christmas with my presents though, not because I feel like I need to buy expensive things, I just like to spoil my nearest and dearest.
  • Options
    the trick is to buy stuff that's under £20 that doesnt look cheap :p

which reminds me... I aught to go xmas shopping this week.

I may well look in the toy shops even though I've already got my lil brothers present, yay :D
  • Options
    Glittery wrote: