Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Christmas parties

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I was talking to a mate of mine the other day about christmas parties (and getting depressed that I don't get any because i'm a student! :( )

and he was saying how he's not inviting his girlfriend to his because he intends on having a few drinks and "snogging the fit receptionist". He then went on to say it was the norm for people to get friendly with each other at an office party and that no boyfriend or girlfriend could ever get annoyed about it.

I must admit that i'm quite shocked by this! I've never been to an office party as i've always been a student so I don't know what really goes on at them, but are things really like this? Is there an unwritten rule that kissing other people is ok?

Personally I would be really really upset if my girlfriend did this, christmas party or not!

Please tell me that my mate is just an idiot and not everyone thinks like this? Is this sort of attitude common?

Comments

• Options
    your mate IS an idiot. sounds like he's using this as an excuse to cheat on his g.f! not a good idea!
  • Options
    I would say your mate is an idiot...if you're in a loving relationship i see no need to go out snogging other people, "fit" or not! I feel very sorry for your mates girlfriend :yes:
  • Options
    he's using it as an excuse

surely if they can't get annoyed about it then he'd invite her?? :chin:
  • Options
    red_jelly wrote:

and he was saying how he's not inviting his girlfriend to his because he intends on having a few drinks and "snogging the fit receptionist". He then went on to say it was the norm for people to get friendly with each other at an office party and that no boyfriend or girlfriend could ever get annoyed about it.