Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

HELP.. am I entitled to funding?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Essentially, I'm a 2nd year student at Warwick and was unable to sit my second year exams in both June and Sepmtember [now!] due to illness. I will now be considered a student out of residence which means that I will sit my second year exams next June 2007 and then enter my third year in September 2007.

In the meantime I can still re-attend 2nd year lectures and seminars but won;t be officially registered. I just phoned my local LEA who were really rude and unhelpful and just said well "we don;t know what a student out of residence is!".
I have read on the directgoveuk website that "if you defer or repeat a year due to circumstances beyond your control, you may be offered full support"..

Help... I can't seem to get any help from anyone....
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    you have to be a full time student to get full funding.
    provided that you re-enroll on your modules you are retaking and attend more than 100 level 2 credits - you will be entitled to funding.
    if you do not have to attend until june 2007 then your lea will calss it as you are not a full time student until june 2007.
    "a student out of residence" is a term i've never heard of so i'm not suprised your lea don't know what it is either.
    if you do have to repeat a year WITH ATTENDANCE then you should get proof of your illness and send it to your lea, as otherwise if you repeat a year without extenuation you will not be entitled to any tuition fee support.
    hope that helps a bit.
    don't give up talking to your lea. but make sure you talk to a student finance advisor at your university as well.
  • Options