Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Setting up a business

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Ok so I make jewellery as a hobby, and recently everyone has been telling me that I should start selling my products. So I thought of ways i could do that- setting up an online shop, hiring a shelf in a jewellery/craft shop etc (if anyone knows of any places in Leeds that do that kind of stuff could they please tell me) and so before I start anything I've a few questions to ask

What do i have to do tax wise to set up this business? does it have to be over a certain amount of earnings before I need to worry about tax?

next question is if i set up a website online, what ways would I be able to set up a "checkout" payment system? are most of these systems bought or are there free ones? I'm a student so i've not got much capital to put into this, as i said it's more like a hobby at the moment but if i can efficiently make a little bit of money out of it, I wouldn't mind.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    First things first, I'd say you'd be better initially testing the market by selling them on ebay or amazon. You'll have more competition, but how much traffic are you going to get on a brand new website?

ETA: Sorry, that didn't answer your actual question.

As I understand it, when working out the tax you pay, it's always on all earnings. It would depend on whether you consider yourself self-employed, or whether you set up an actual company. I'm sure someone else will be able to tell you how it works though, because I don't really have a clue.
  • Options
    littlemissylittlemissy Posts: 9,972 Supreme Poster
    If you set up a website you could get people to pay via paypal - they don't need an account as they can just use their cards.