Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Social Workers or probation officers

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Do we have any here? How did you go about training? How long did it take? Any tips?
I'd love to become one of the above and I think I'd be good at it too.

Comments

• Options
    I'm training to be a social worker... you now have to do a three year degree, it used to be a diploma, but its changed to a new degree, and the age-limit, which used to be 21 on the diploma has changed so that you can start training from 18. Its a three year degree, in the first year there is a lot of theory, and a 5 day placement. The second year is started with an 80 day placement, then some more theory, and the third year starts with 160 days in placement.

I'm in my first year, and it was my first day on placement yesterday and it was really good. I got to shadow a social worker. There seems to be a lot of paperwork, with every contact you have with clients/schools/whoever, needs to be documented on the computer system. We went out on some visits and stuff, so definetly you need to be good at communicating with people, and be very diplomatic! Hope that helps a bit.... I'm intersted in reading other peoples replies to this thread :p
  • Options
    i'll let you know in a few years! doing a degree in criminology and social policy now and might end up in the probation service. think you can fast track if you have a degree.
  • Options
    Well i dont know anything about being a probation officer but social work is REALLY STRESSFUL. Which area do you think would be interesting?

Im in dance at the moment but my mam has been a social worker working with kids for bout 7 yrs now. Its something that would really interest me (cos i wana work with kids 2) but OMG no way could i handle that stress everyday.