Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

lying about virginity

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I've got a friend who i've been emailing for about 2 years or more from northern ireland. He's 20 or 21 i can never remember. Anyways, he told me he'd slept with 2 girls but hadn't had a gf for a few years. I told him about me losing my virginity the other night (he always seemed to like the idea of me being a sweet innocent virgin) and he went funny. I asked him why...it turns out that he has feelings for me and is actually a virgin himself" He lied because he thought i'd think he was a loser. My bf is 20 in june and lost his virginity to me last month and i thought it was really sweet that he'd waited. I'm a bit miffed he thought i was shallow enough to judge him on being a virgin. Why is it so uncool for guys to be virgins? But its ok for girls?

Comments

• Options
    I remember when I was at college, I used to lie all the time about the number of people I'd slept with. Whenever the subject came up, I just said "oh, a few people" and went distinctly quiet. I heard several blokes bragging to their mates about how many they'd "shagged". In truth, there was a huge smell in the air - the smell of bullshit. Countless people lie about this, men and women.

From a man's point of view, he thinks "well, if I tell her I'm a virgin, she's going to think I'm some sort of backward freak who can't pull the girls". I was worried sick that my first girlfriend would think that, but I told her I was a virgin none the less. The reaction surprised me. Far from being put off, she actually found it a massive turn-on. :blush: I suppose people can react both ways to this, but the point is, lying about the age people lose their virginity is not a new thing, it's almost certainly a tradition as old as time itself.
  • Options