Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Web Hosting Help

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Right my lovely dudes n lasses im after some advice.

Im a major beginner in the world of the internet and web hosting. I am trying to build myself a website, to show off my photography work as I progress. I have been looking at web hosting but have absolutely no idea about all the numbers and figures webspace, bandwidth, download limit etc.

Could anyone shed light on what these mean in a simple basic way? Or does anyone know cheap easy to use websites?

Comments

• Options
    With web hosting, 9 times out of 10 you'll get what you pay for. There is the budget end of the market, with places like WebMania for around £25 per year. Uptime can vary quite a lot from month to month, they don't do backups of your data, they'll not refund if the site is down for more than xxx minutes per month, etc, etc. If all you want is a cheap, no-frills provider for email and a casual website, then you'll probably not go far wrong with someone at this end of the market.

Move up the ladder a step or two and you have places like HostingHTML. Much better support, a slightly more personal feel, etc, etc. Its a smaller company so they'll work harder to keep you happy - you're not just a number. However, for a dossy little site for a blog, bit of a gallery, etc, etc, it may be a bit overkill for what you're after.

The options above this are almost certainly overkill, so I'll leave that for another time.

I guess you have to work out for yourself what you'd like to pay, and the level of service you'd like to receive. When everything is working, then the cheap places are hard to beat. When there is a problem, no amount of money saved will stop you stamping your feet ;).