Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

students and tax... just to clarify

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
hi everyone !

just wanted to clear something up... im a student and i usually get myself a job every summer for which i do not normally have to pay tax... this year however i worked over a longer period in the summer, stopped for a while and then continued again part time once i was back at uni... when i started back part time i was paying tax but i think this may be because i exceeded my personal allowance (which is around 4000 no?) and im now well into 6000... but i was under the impression students pay zero tax regardless of how much u get, can anyone clear this up for me ? :chin:

many thanks !

Comments

• Options
    no, otherwise surely people would do a part time degree with a full time job and not pay tax!

as far as i'm aware it's after you earn so much.
  • Options
    lol wouldnt that be nice :naughty: tax sucks ! thanks for your help tho
  • Options
    If you study part time- you're not counted as a student for tax purposes! surely full-time student are completely exempt from income tax? If their personal allowance is the same as anyone else's, what's the point in students being able to work tax free- they wouldn't be. Ask your tax office.
  • Options
    You are only exempt from tax in the summer if you don't work throughout the rest of the year.
  • Options
    well, it seems I'm wrong

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/faqs/general.htm#2

explains about tax allowance for students
  • Options
    On a slight tangent, any idea where I would find out about claiming tax back for the last year, now I am at uni?
  • Options
  • Options
    Thank you sweetie
  • Options
    You have to pay tax on anything you earn that is over the normal tax-free limit (£4000-and-something).