Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Recycling...anything green?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I know this sounds daft but the other day I was confidently walking toward my green recycle bin with a piece of kitchen roll when I blew my nose into it, and then suddenly I was struck with doubt about its eligibility for this bin. any ideas?

Comments

• Options
    i think you still can recycle it. I dont think the bin men sort it all out by ungloved hand or anything.
  • Options
    Yep, you'll be ok to put it in there.

I work as an Environmental Manager, and have seen what happens to the paper waste. They dump it all into a big pulper and mash it up, bleach it and then recycle it.

Doubt a couple of boogers would throw much of a spanner in the works ;)
  • Options
    hehe, you said booger
  • Options
    Fiend_85 wrote:
    hehe, you said booger

I most certainly did
  • Options
    hehehe
  • Options
    To be serious though, even as a quite environmentally concious person, the recycling being done by local councils is a joke - it's either none existent, or extremely badly managed -

We now have 6 different bins/boxes for different stuff. Would be OK if we had a huge garden, but we've simply got nowhere to keep them.
  • Options
    In Daventry (nearest town at home) we have a blue box for tins, plastic and glass, a red box for paper and clothes, and a brown dustbin to put garden waste and food peelings etc in, as well as the normal black bin. Daventry District Council is really high up for recycling, they do loads.