Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Car Finance Advice

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
As you know (or maybe not) I am a third year student nurse, I am saving up for a car but don't want to get a shitty one.

So I was wondering whether I can get finance (remember I am a student, but will have a full-time job in October) for a car?

I will have a deposit of ~£2000, and the repayments I can afford as I get a bursary and have my work wages.

Any students done this before?
Any people in the finance industry able to tell me neigh or yay?

Phoned a few companies who say that I have to have a face-face chat with them, I would rather not waste my time if it is not worth it.

Comments

• Options
    I don't see why not, but it will be down to your specific circumstances. I'm sure a car superstore would give you a deal.
  • Options
    £2k will get you a good second hand car. My advice on car finance - don't do it. It never seems to work out to be a good deal.

If you do decide to get something more expensive, go for something different - something that will retain its value. Look for something a little oddball - how about an early 1990's Lotus Elan? Japanese engine(and a strong one at that!), convertible, very low depreciation...

If all you need is a runaround - a car to get from A to B, have a look at the early 90's Rovers. Many of them have Honda engines, and go for peanuts. Find a 216GSi and you'll be laughing... I'll bet you'll have a heap of change from a grand!
  • Options