Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

renting a house with students

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
hiya, wasnt sure where to put this but if anyone can think of a better place feel free to tell me.

i am in my final year at uni and will be finishing in may ish.

i dont want to move back home and am debating moving in with three / four of my friends in huddersfield. the problem being that the people that i would be moving in with would all be students and im not sure where i would stand.

am i correct in thinking that that i would get a 25% discount on the council tax for the whole property?

also in general do people pay rates or are they usually the landlords buisness in any rented propertys?

could anyone come up with other hurdles that i might come across?

i wont have the problem of all night partying when i have to get up for work and things like that as they will all be final years anyway. i just need economic advice.

thanks for your help in advance :)

mel

Comments

• Options
    Mel-H wrote:
    am i correct in thinking that that i would get a 25% discount on the council tax for the whole property?
    I believe so, if you are the only non-student, though you should check that with the local council.
    also in general do people pay rates or are they usually the landlords buisness in any rented propertys?
    Rates? Council tax = rates. Water bills are sometimes paid by the landlord, sometimes not. The electric and gas are usually the responsibility of the tenants.
    Apart from them being lazy bums, up all night and asleep all day, no. I'd say it's better to live with people you like and know than moving in with strangers or on your own. Also much cheaper to share, so it'll give you a chance to save up for a deposit to get a place of your own.
  • Options
    Mel-H wrote: