Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Student Laptop

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi there,
I would like some advice on laptops,

Im a student, in my final year, and as my desktop PC is very old and rubbish, Im going to be investing in a laptop to do the rest of my work on, and for the future.
I dont know much about what specifications I should be looking for, I would like it to have a good memory (but what is good? - 60MB?). What is Centrium also? I was told that having intel centrio was a good thing, any clues on how to decode specifications would be great!

Comments

• Options
    Well, sounds like you need a nice reliable laptop. I'm guessing you'd want it to be pretty fast. Here would be an example of a nice laptop setup:

Intel Pentium M Processor at or around 2 Ghz
    256 MB DDR RAM (minimum) for your memory
    40 - 80 Gigabyte hard drive
    14 - 17 inch display
    32 - 64 MB integrated video card (Radeon 9000 mobile or nVidia GeForce Go)
    Optical drive (CD, CD-R, CD-RW, DVD, DVD-R, DVD-RW, etc.)
    and of course Windows XP pro or home

I would also get a wireless adapter card for wireless internet access. Incredibly useful.
  • Options
    duck4 wrote:
    Hi there,

Im a student, in my final year, and as my desktop PC is very old and rubbish, Im going to be investing in a laptop to do the rest of my work on, and for the future.
    I dont know much about what specifications I should be looking for, I would like it to have a good memory (but what is good? - 60MB?). What is Centrium also? I was told that having intel centrio was a good thing, any clues on how to decode specifications would be great!

Centrino is Intel's mobile technology, which means that you can connect your laptop up to a wireless network without buying any more cards. Of course, you'd have to have the wireless network though.