Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Moderating dilemma on a metal forum

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi i've posted this on another forum so i'll just cut and paste to save time:

I'm a forum manager on a heavy metal site. I've had to deal with a couple of posters, being abusive (were probably the only metal forum thats friendly and i want us to keep that way) and now spamming. We have a new system put in where you can earn "Scuzz bucks", everytime you post a reply or start a new post, these can then go towards purchasing things for the forum. So its like a currency.

I've had to post a sticky warning posters off spamming. One person posted about 10 posts, some of them were really silly, like saying good night! So i deleted the ones i thought were spam. Now she's having a go at me for it! Problem is she's the admin's girlfriend!

I've had problems before when a poster was abusive to me, because i passed him up for a promotion to moderator. He just wasn't suitable. In the end admin blocked his IP, but everyone blamed me. It just seems when i'm one of them, everyone gets on well. The moment i actually have to do my job, bitching starts. What can i do? Have any of you ever had problems??

.. Basically this girl is insulting me saying (to qoute)

"excuse me but im not happy.

a smiley face is no reply like before i have put lol as a reply n u deleted it ! then put up a postin notice that peoples post should be for people to actually reply 2 !! and not just to earn scuzzed bucks.
uve delted alot of my posts before so dont say you cant do it. im not happy satehen just becoz alot of these people are your friends gives you no reason to treat me differently !
ian has also commented on it. You'd better sort out your f*ckin rules if you want to be the forum manager."

And..