Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Trying to find out about self-harm

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hey,

I'm a first year Journalism student and I'm trying to research self-harm for a feature I'm writing for my assessment. The idea of the feature is that I'm comparing self-harmers and skateboarders to see the similarities and differences in why people do both. Because I skate I have knowldege of the skating side, but I need some help to research the self-harm side of it.

I was wondering if anyone could help me by answering some of the following questions? Your answers will be used to help me write my feature and I may use them as quotes, but I will only use your screen name. This article will not be published in any magazines or newspapers, it is purely for my exam so will only be read by my tutor. If you do not wish to be quoted or your answers used then please don't post a reply.

1) What do you do to harm yourself?
2) Why do you self-harm? What were the reasons for you starting?
3) Do you see your self-harm as a way with coping with the world? ie, to relieve tension/stress?
4) Have you ever taken it too far and seriously hurt yourself, or ended up in hospital due to self-harm?
5) How do you feel when you harm yourself?
6) Do you feel that anything else could replace your self-harm?

I know these questions may seem intruding or difficult, but I would really appreciate any feedback to them.

Thankyou.

Comments

• Options
  • Options
    not only that, it seems like a strange as hell comparison.

it's like comparing homicide with cross-stitch.
  • Options
    Originally posted by kaffrin
    not only that, it seems like a strange as hell comparison.

Yeah... sounds like a pretty interesting essay to write!

But yes, you need permission for this.
  • Options
    Hey there,