Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Preferred type of degree on the job-market

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Was wondering what sounds better when applying for jobs later on:
A single honor degree or a joint one?

As far as I understood, when you take a joint, you go less in dept than with a single subject.
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    something im kinda wondering myself.

As for less in one department. Yep- I'm majoring in computer science and minoring in management. Most unis are the same.
  • Options
    I think he ment "depth" dude. I don't know the A to your Q though........... :confused:

Bopz
  • Options
    Re: Preferred type of degree on the job-market
    Originally posted by Jacqueline the Ripper
    Was wondering what sounds better when applying for jobs later on:
    A single honor degree or a joint one?

As far as I understood, when you take a joint, you go less in dept than with a single subject.

To be honest I don't think it really matters. At keele uni you have to do a joint honours I believe, but I have never heard or known of anyone getting any different treatment, preferantial or otherwise, from having the wrong degree in terms of single or joint. I would guess that maybe joint honours are often taken by people with interets in a couple of areas who are keen to get a qualification in both, thus maybe keeping their employment oppurtunities more open into the bargain.

As for going into less depth, stands to reason if you have more topics or subjects, you can't go into as much detail as if you were doing a more 'narrow' course so to speak, covering less territory.
  • Options