Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Often feeling like an out of place child or just kind of weird

ZaracookieZaracookie Posts: 1 Just got here
I am 24, I did a film degree, never attempted to enter the industry. Worked in a care home which was just agonisingly stressful for like the last two years. I recently got a job in a coffee shop after a few failed interviews trying to get into positions with more progression (admin etc).

I just feel like I need to give this back ground as context. I feel and have felt for quite a while like a complete alien. I kind of feel like a stupid toddler, incapable in an adult workplace. I think it sort of stems from the fact that o do have a genetic condition that impaired my eye sight and hearing to a degree. I was also the youngest child. So sure I was a bit over protected. I feel like even as an adult these poor staff are having to treat me like an extremely shy 16 y/Ø who doesn’t know up from down. I feel annoying. I notice that my current manager really has to take a kind of ridiculously motherly sort of role to help me. I had one experience in retail before where they just didn’t have the time of day for me so I guess at least this is slightly more positive than that.

I really desperately want to feel like a confident functioning human who can go about independently in the workplace. I often feel the need to overshare about how I am nervous to do stuff or how I messed something up. I am trying to pass my driving test (that’s a whole other thing). And after that maybe I can put money toward some actual therapy. I just feel like I’ve hit a complete brick wall. I don’t feel I can progress career wise atm. I’m already so embarrassed by how I’ve acted in front of customers with this new job. I seem to struggle with super basic stuff.

Comments

• Options
    SherlockSherlock Posts: 10 Settling in