Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Support for mental health at university

coc0maccoc0mac Posts: 1,054 Wise Owl
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Hi! 

I was going to talk about this on a one-to-one chat but I thought any responses might be helpful other people too so decided to make it into a discussion. 

I'm in my final year of university at the moment (kinda, I am staying on for a one year masters degree but this is my final year of my undergrad) and I am struggling. I enjoy the content and I have previously enjoyed university, however since around November time I have been feeling so anxious all the time. This makes it difficult for me to concentrate on my work, and although I still get it done, I am then left worrying about whether it's a good piece of work or not (I haven't had any grades back yet to know). My friends say I am probably overthinking and that my work is fine, but it's hard to switch off from these worries, and it also just adds pressure for upcoming pieces of work because I feel like I need to do extra well to 'make up for it'. I know grades aren't everything, but I really would love to do well as I have worked so hard throughout this whole degree and I would love to graduate with a grade that reflects that - they're not everything, but it is important to me. My boyfriend and best friend are both at my university so I do have support, but sometimes I feel guilty because they too are in their final year so of course they are going to be feeling stressed too...but this just feels different.