Home Introduce Yourself
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Hi, my name is Vicky

V_95V_95 Posts: 2 Newbie
Hi all,

It's my first time posting here and I'd love to receive tips on how to improve with anxiety. Lately, I feel like I've been treated as 'second best' and I feel really down. Any tips would be great :)

Comments

• Kathleen07Kathleen07 Posts: 1,938 Extreme Poster
    Welcome to the community Vicky, it's really nice to have you here :) 

I'm sorry to hear you're feeling down and struggling with anxiety. Would you like to talk about how you're feeling some more? We're here to support you <3

I've dealt with feelings of anxiety before, so I've discovered a fair few coping techniques. Physical activity (like running), listening to music, controlled breathing and relaxing posture, hiding in a quiet and dark room, playing online games, and writing down how I feel are all things that help me.

Long-term - identifying possible causes and triggers, challenging and rationalising with thoughts, and maybe having therapy or medication are all things that can improve it for some people.

Sending much love <3
  • V_95V_95 Posts: 2 Newbie
    It just seems that career wise I'm underachieving in relation to all of my friends, even though I graduated from two Russel group unis. It has been almost a year since I finished my MA and I'm still unemployed. Just wished things worked out as planned. 
    Sometimes I also feel my friends only go out with me when I make plans. I see them making plans with other people, but I'm always the one who organises things when we hang. I just wished there was a mutual effort. 
    I don't know if my judgement is right at the moment because anxiety about my future is definitely not helping me see things clearly. 
  • Anch0r33Anch0r33 Posts: 1,201 Wise Owl