Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Uni and autism

casscubcasscub Posts: 138 The Mix Convert
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Hi
Im a student in their first year at uni and just wondering how people with autism find it? Like do you find it gets easier with time or does it get harder? Do you have any support mechanisms in place that work for you or help you? 

Any advice would be much appreciated it really would x

Casscub
"Yesterday is not ours to recover, but tomorrow is ours to win or lose" 
Lyndon B.Johnson 
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• AifeAife Community Manager Posts: 3,026 Boards Guru
    Hey Casscub,

You've taken a really positive step to reach out here for advice and support. How are things going at uni? Are you receiving any support at the moment? 

I found an article on the Ambitious about Autism website about some people's experiences of uni. They talk a bit about the type of support they got at uni and how it helped them. I hope you find it helpful to read through :) 

Maybe somethings don't get better, but we do. We get stronger. We learn to live with our situations as messy and ugly as they are. We fix what we can and we adapt to what we can't. Maybe some of us will never fully be okay, but at least we're here. We're still trying. We're doing the best we can. That's worth celebrating too ❤
  • casscubcasscub Posts: 138 The Mix Convert
    edited October 2018
    Aife said:
    Hey Casscub,

You've taken a really positive step to reach out here for advice and support. How are things going at uni? Are you receiving any support at the moment? 

I found an article on the Ambitious about Autism website about some people's experiences of uni. They talk a bit about the type of support they got at uni and how it helped them. I hope you find it helpful to read through :) 

:+1: