Home Introduce Yourself
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Reintroducing myself 2 years later!

kaiikaii Posts: 468 Listening Ear
Hi everyone!!

Today marks the day that I started volunteering on the boards here as a Peer Supporter two years ago! It's honestly crazy how much time has passed - I still vividly remember logging on here to introduce myself for the first time, and posting about my first anniversary!

I thought I'd reintroduce myself since so much has happened! :3

My name is Kai, I'm an undergraduate studying psychology, currently in my placement year as a research assistant. I'm investigating attention and have been using neuroscience methods (such as EEG, which has been very very fun!). My placement made me realise that I want to go into neuropsychology/neuroscience!

I'm a big dreamer who wants to become a lot of things - probably because I have quite a few hobbies. I like playing the piano, singing, drawing, writing, and learning languages! I'm working on myself to be the person I want to be in the future :smile:

I think what compelled me to start volunteering here at The Mix was the fact that I noticed that support for mental health was quite limited in my secondary school. Navigating through adolescence is a difficult time, so knowing the right tools to get through the stressful times during this period is especially important. It was painful witnessing others go through challenging times during secondary. I also went through a difficult time back then, and I'm grateful that I'm in a much better place now - so I want to make sure that no one ever feels terrible like how I did before.