Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

trauma effects

ellie2000ellie2000 Posts: 4,000 Community Veteran
does it make u forget wat u knew b4?
Crazy mad insane

Comments

• Options
    Ed_Ed_ Moderator Posts: 1,551 Extreme Poster
    Hey @ellie2000 - trauma can certainly impact people's memories and it is possible that people forget things as a result. I'm by no means an expert on this, however my understanding is that these impacts can vary from person to person, but that it can be a part of the body/brain's defence mechanism to stop memories that may be very distressing. Is this something that you think you may be experiencing?
    FAQHow to report a post | How to report spam
    I'm a community moderator. I'm here to help guide discussions and make sure Community Guidelines are followed. I can't send DMs, but you can message @TheMix or email community@themix.org.uk with questions or concerns.

• Options
    a therapist i had continued, she brought up everything. i had 1 therapist who was very gd, she waved everything away but is it possible tht if ppl put u down u cant get up level again?, how do u block out toxic ppl who u see regularly? ppl think everythings hunky dory
    Crazy mad insane
  • Options
    tht toxic person makes me want self harm, he's supposed to be professional, i had a go at him on fb puting suggestion wat he could say. is tht wrong to be assertive?
    Crazy mad insane
  • Options
    Laura_tigger82Laura_tigger82 Moderator Posts: 5,132 Part of The Furniture
    It sounds really positive that you had a therapist who was very good @ellie2000.

Would you like to tell us more about what you mean by if people put you down you can't get up level again?