Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Feeling inadequate...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi guys,

I'm new to this forum so erm, a quick "hi" from me!

This is quite a loaded first post but I don't know where else to go. I'm 22, just graduated from uni and I've been working the typical 9-5 for a couple of months now. I can safely say, I HATE my job. It makes me feel empty, the work is dull, the people are cold and cliquey and I feel so invisible. It's definitely getting me down but it's gotten to the point where I'm questioning my purpose in life. What am I here for? I'll never be as good as X. I'm trying to be proactive about getting out of this dire situation but I haven't had any luck. Just rejection after rejection after rejection. I feel so hopeless for the future and there are days when I'm just ruminating over the absolute futility of life and just how worthless I am. I hate myself for throwing such a pity party but it's my go-to response. I just shut down and cry (behind closed doors).

No one knows of my pain. Well, apart from my therapist who I don't think is helping much. She's not making things worse either. I'm currently going through psychoanalytic therapy but I'm considering CBT (budget allowing) so please feel free to share your suggestions/experiences. From a young age, I've trained myself to think that bottling it up is the best way to handle things. My family aren't exactly the warmest or most supportive of individuals. If there was ever "advice", it would be to get up, brush it off and carry on. But I find that so draining. Just pretending nothing's wrong...