Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

fire alarms

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
anyone had the fire alarms go off in their halls at an ungodly hour yet?

ours went off at 7am this morning. it was the beginning of year test though, so there were no fire drills. I'm really hoping that the fact I'm in 4th year/postgrad only halls this year will mean there are no more fire alarms for the rest of the year. my first year halls were really bad for it - about 3 a week at around 3am!
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Happened all the time when my sis was in halls people just won't learn that fire detectors detect smoke & they are miffed why they keep on going off when they are smoking :D

.:Crispy:.
    I'm in a selfcatered flat and haven't actually seen or heard any fire alarms (I've been here three weeks already)

Have heard plenty of smoke alarms, but everyone just ignores them. I swear they go off if you even look at them.
    Had a 3rd one last night: 1 real one and 2 from people being stupid.

This was at 2:30am. Wasnt impressed!
    Someone in halls put a sock over their smoke detector hoping they could have a cigarette and not set it off.... :rolleyes:

Needless to say the alarms did go off, the whole building was evacuated and they got fined for putting a sock over the detector...:lol:
    Hehe, of all the things to put over it....

A sock. :lol:
    Originally posted by bad seed

And some other tosser decided to spray deodorant in to one :/
    Yep, same happened to us - at 730am. I was in the shower and had to stand outside shivering in my towel while everyone else in warm dressing gowns and duvets pointed and laughed. :rolleyes: