Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

What can I do for experience?!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi,

I'm starting to think I'm getting a bit bored of doing nothing, except my weekend job and studying during the week. I am free every night during the week and really think I need to get some experience by doing some volunterry work or something, but what can I do....? I need to do something that will pay dividends to an interview in later life, as I want to be an airline pilot (currently what I'm studying for at the mo...but got about 6 months till I finish yet)...

Any help appreciated.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    have you thought about joining your local ATC (air cadets)?
    Where are you doing your ATPL? OATS?

How many hours do you have and what type? Done much cross-country? Done much flying under IMC?

Is it a half sponsored scheme? If so, by which carrier?

Why not become an instructor for a while? It'd certainly build up your all-important hours, whilst making you an even more confident flyer and developing your people skills. It'd be a good example to illustrate your communication, teamwork and organisational skills. In addition, it'd enable you to pay off some of the debt you have accumulated.

Have you checked out www.pprune.com?
    Hi D'OHnut,

I found out about pprune a while back and since then, I've been quite a frequent user, but I'll remain anonymous :D .

I've currently got a PPL, IMC and MEP to my name with 180hrs. About 20 of which are P1 on the Seneca. I fly at Sherburn (singles) and Nottingham or Gamston (Pa34 Seneca).