Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Teachers

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Is anyone here a teacher or training to be one?

I did my degree in June and still haven't got the design job I want. I'm now considering teaching, I'd quite like to be an art & design teacher. I know I'll prob have to go back to uni, but does anyone know exactly what I'd have to do? And do the government pay for your fees like they do for nurses? Cos otherwise I don't think I could afford to go back to uni.

It's just an idea at the moment, but I want to look into it incase I did decide to go back to Uni in Sept.

Any help would be fab :D

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    thankyou hun :D
  • littlemissylittlemissy Posts: 9,972 Supreme Poster
    im training to be a teacher. im doing a BEd in primary teaching and it is such a good course. im doing it at moray house, edinburgh uni. placement is fab and it is a worthwhile career. if you've done a degree already then you can do a PGCE which is the postgrad 1 year course. in scotland cos they are crying out for teachers they pay off your tuition fees and student loan as long as you are in the profession for at least your 1 year probabtion. sorry ... but i dont know how it works if you are in the english system as it differs to the scottish one.

littlemissy x
    on the site it says that 'eligible' students can recieve the money! So that'll be the single parent families earning peanuts and no one else, as always :rolleyes: I don't think I can afford it if they don't give me money, cos i'm already so much in debt from my degree :(
    Originally posted by Faith