Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I have applied for 20+ freelance design positions today, lets bet I dont get any good responses - why do they all hate graduates? We gotta start somewhere!!

Ok, Rant over...

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Don't let them get you down! I've got a stack of rejection letters when I graduated as well. . . you'll get your break!

What type of free lance work?

Happy belated b-day by the way. . . :birthday: (I've been itching to use the b-day cake all day)
    I've got a Graphic Design degree and am looking for freelance graphic or webdesign work. Unfortunately all jobs and freelance companies only wanna employ people with at least a years experience. How are we supposed to get it in the first place?! :confused:

It's 4 months since I graduated and I'm sick of working in a bar! lol

But thanks for the cake :D
    Try doing some work experience or volunteering your services for free/ cut rates for local businesses etc. This way you at least keep your CV up to date in your area. Also get your CV checked over by a careers advisor to see if you can improve it in anyway to grab a future employer's attention.

Often if you can demonstrate the talent, the drive and at least a little experience you will get the break.

Susie :)
    None of the businesses round here are interested in giving out work experience! And I am doing work for next to nothing to get the experience but I need money desperately!! I've been at Uni for 3 years and I'm seriously in debt!
    My auntie who has been in the job for 20+ years cant get a job because graduates always come first so it isnt always like that. They would rather have a graduate than an experienced designer!
    Originally posted by *DEVIL*