Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Some Advice

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
As a student I am on full loan entitlement but have to pay about £650 tuition fees. I pay these myself out of my loan, along with my rent of £50 a week, bills and food shopping, along with weekly bus fares which have come to equal about £20.

I have been struggling lately to cope with having to pay out this much money, and despite my part time job I can no longer afford to live out, and so I am moving back in with my parents (we get on really well so no problem there)

I would urge people to really consider if they can afford to live out before they contemplate it, because I am creating upheavel for myself and housemates, and it is now my responsibility to find them someone acceptable to take over my contract.

They keep trying to get me to consider access loans and stuff, but I've made my decision and I just want them to respect it, but they're upset and the atmosphere in the house is edgy, making me want to move out even more!!!

Has anyone gone though all of this before, and does anyone know how I should go about finding someone else to move in?

At the end of the day I want them to like the person who moves in, but from a legal point of view, if they're being fussy, is it up to me who moves in at the end of the day???
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    My best mate in halls absolutely hated the girls we were living with and was having big probs with money to so she decided to move home. She couldn't leave til she found an acceptable replacement either and we had that cold, edgy feeling about the place so i know what u are going through.