Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Taking time off uni

lovemimoonlovemimoon Posts: 2,318 Boards Champion
edited March 27 in Work & Study
So.

I'm in my second year of uni and my mental health's deteriorating rapidly. With what's been going on outside, I can't function anymore. I'm considering taking a 'Time Out' but I'm not sure how it will affect my academic progress.

What do you think?
Have you guys taken time off uni? How was it?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• DandelionDandelion Posts: 1,911 Extreme Poster
    Hey @lovemimoon i also struggled with my mental health in my second year at uni. I haven’t taken a year out as such but this last year I’ve done a placement year instead of being at uni, this was something I was always going to do it, but it has helped me so much. Although I’m still technically at uni and working it has helped me as it’s a lot less pressure I don’t have to worry about assignments and exams. Although I have to go back to uni next year I think having this placement year has helped me just take a break for a year. I know this probably isn’t much help as it’s not really the same as your situation. Does your uni have a well-being centre or someone you can talk to about it? X
    The steps you take don’t need to be big, they just need to take you in the right direction. 
  • lovemimoonlovemimoon Posts: 2,318 Boards Champion
    edited May 2021
    Good morning, @Dandelion

Reading your experience, I'm happy that it has helped you out so much! <3

I've emailed my course leader and I researched my options on the uni site. They have a step-by-step guide so I'm currently waiting for a response. My uni has a centre for these types of situations so it's all good!
  • DandelionDandelion Posts: 1,911 Extreme Poster