Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Terrified of failing university

spatialsound13spatialsound13 Posts: 4 Newbie
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I'm an undergrad chemistry student currently redoing the second year of my course, and I'm worried that I've already messed up my chances of passing the year.

For context, when I started back in 2018 I struggled immediately; I was living with 12 other people which was a nightmare for a socially anxious person like me, I ended up shutting myself away in my room and barely interacting with my flatmates and coursemates, to the point where I've ended up with only a couple of friends who I knew from secondary school. This has not helped the academic side of things, which rapidly went downhill too; from being a 'star student' back in KS3/4 to not getting as good A-level results as I'd have wanted to just scraping a pass in first year of uni. In fact, I did so badly on the end-of-year tests last summer (exams were unassessed due to covid) that I decided to redo second year rather than taking the free pass into third, as I felt I'd struggle even more.

This year the structure has changed so that we're examined on the first half of the material in January, and the second half in June, with the credits split between these two semesters, in a similar way to how AS/A-levels used to work. I've had all but one exam so far (the last one is on the 22nd) and I've done utterly abysmally. I just cannot seem to understand and apply the material to the degree that's expected, even on my second try at learning it.