Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Career Ideas

coc0maccoc0mac Posts: 1,054 Wise Owl
hiii! bit of a niche question today. however I am really thinking about my future career at the moment and just thought I would post here to see if anyone has any suggestions or has done anything in the past/now that they think would be suitable etc! 

so I have a psychology degree and am currently doing a masters in psychological well-being in mental health. I loved my degree, however I realised a psychologist is not necessarily the role for me (I'm not interested enough in the research side of things to do it as a full time thing). my love for all things mental health & well-being stayed strong, which is why I went for that masters - keeping it nice and broad to see what I enjoy the most. 

I'm learning lots about myself, which is good, but also leaves me so unsure about what jobs would suit me. when I do career tests (my uni employability team has lots to try) they always come up with therapist or teacher which, whilst they sound interesting, I'm still not sure if that's exactly for me. so what is me? well:

• I know I would like to work in something related to well-being. I am really passionate about this!
  • In my masters I am gravitating a lot towards 'positive psychology'. this is all about helping people to recognise the strengths and tools that they have within themselves, how to promote happiness and the best quality of life etc. You don't focus on any mental health 'problems', you focus on positive steps moving forward.