Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

is this relationship going anywhere?

WillowWillow Posts: 59 Boards Initiate
Hello, (I am really bad at titles so, sorry for the dramatics)

So I met this guy in my first year at university and we have been going out for 5 years since (between 2nd and 3rd year of uni we lived together in the student housing with friends) and the last 2 years we been long distance.

I finished my Masters back in February and he is finishing his in September. I would like to think after going out for 5 years with no problems or massive fights that we should be looking to our next chapter. That being moving in together and finding jobs. Everytime I bring this up I get this attitude that he doesn't know what he wants to do or he is waiting to see if he can get a PHD (Which if you didn't know can take years!) I obviously don't want to be holding him back and vice versa but I don't seem to be getting any kind of enthusiasm that he wants to get a place with me. He is one of those people who doesn't have "dreams" per say and doesn't think that far ahead. I already know in my own head that I would like to move out of my parents by the end of this year whether that be in my dream job or in just any job. I guess I am a little lost as to what to think at the moment. We love each other but its like hes just comfortable and nothing seems to be going anywhere or feel like it will go anywhere because he won't sit for 5 minutes and think what he wants to with his life or come up with a plan or even think if he wants to be with me long term. I am not asking him to know exactly what he wants to do with his life but to at least think about if it at least involves me.