Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Unsure of what to do now

independent_independent_ Community Champion Posts: 8,610 Legendary Poster
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Hey everyone, I’m just looking for a little advice here.

This year I studied an HNC in social sciences at a further education college. I hated school with a passion so left as soon as I could after turning 16. I really enjoyed the course at the beginning, but at the start of this year my mental health started to decline again and im now at a point where I’m really struggling quite a bit.

As a result of this I haven’t done as well as I wanted at college. Perhaps naively I thought I’d be able to somehow get through and get the result I wanted, and progress to the HND level which was my original plan despite what im going through. But I don’t think I’ve met the entry requirements for that year, and because I stupidly assumed it’d all be ok, I have no other plans.

I don’t want to be one of those people who sits at home relying on the benefits system, but I feel like this is my only option at this point. I had one plan and I’ve screwed it up and now I have nowhere else to go. My situation makes it quite difficult for me to get a job, but that is an incredibly long story which would take hours to write and even longer to read so I won’t go into it. I also feel like I’ve disappointed everyone by not doing as well - everyone sees me as a high achiever like i was at school and I’m scared to tell people because I know how disappointed and mad they’ll be.

I don’t really know what im asking here I guess I don’t know what my options are now and how to stop thinking I’ve disappointed everyone - and it’s a rant too.

Thanks for reading this as I know it’s long.
“Sometimes the people around you won’t understand your journey. They don’t need to, it’s not for them.”
Post edited by JustV on

Comments