Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Any advice?

Rainbow114Rainbow114 Posts: 5 Confirmed not a robot
Hi I'm new to this kinda thing, not really the one for posting things on any type of social media but really need advice.

I am really worried about my best friend he hasn't been himself for about a year now and its been really hard for me to watch him fall deeper into a black hole. He has been to his GP nd is waiting on CBT which has been pushed back a number of months probs due to high demand and he is also receiving 1-1 support.

But recently he lost a friend to suicide which has just devastated him. He hasn't left his bed and hasn't been out of his house and he doesn't want to see anyone which is understandable. But is there anything more I can do as a friend? Sometimes I feel like I am failing him as a friend for not being there enough for him even though I would text him every day to see how he is, ask him to come out a walk, always tell him I'm here for him whenever he needs me etc but one thing he doesn't talk he will keep it bottled which is why I think the death of his friend has hit him a lot harder than people think and he would tell me he's ok but I know he's not. Im just finding it hard at the minute because I'm stuck and I don't know what to do and I don't want to lose my best friend. Any advice would be greatful.

Comments

• mags98mags98 Posts: 287 The Mix Regular
    Hi @Rainbow114 and welcome to the boards!

It's great to hear you are looking out and trying to help your friend. It must be really hard on both of you in this situation. It sounds like you are doing a lot for him and reassuring him that you are there for him which is really nice and can be really helpful. People deal with their emotions in different ways, have you asked him how he'd like you to help or if he did want any?