Home Gender & Sexuality
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Coming out

scottyjones98scottyjones98 Posts: 14 Settling in
Hey,
So I've been discovering and battling and exploring my sexuality for probably about 7 years now. I've finally settled that I am bisexual.

I've recently started dating and now have a wonderful boyfriend and I want to come out so I can spend time with him and start out life together and no longer be all secretive.

I'm 22 and just want some advice on how to tell my parents and my two brothers I'm bisexual and also how to tell them I have a boyfriend - should I do it at the same time?

We have never really discussed sexuality and none of my extended family are LGBT. My family aren't homophobic in anyway but I'm just unsure as to how they will react and how to tell them and so was just wanting some advice.

I was thinking of writing a letter to my parents and getting them to read it whilst I'm with them, so I can get down all the words I want to without being too nervous and also means I can answer any questions.

I don't want to be judged or treated any differently as I'm still the same person as I am now, but I just don't want to upset or disappoint them.

I was thinking about dropping some subtle hints about LGBT so I can 'test the water' and try and gauge what there reaction would be.

Just looking for some ideas and some advice.

Thanks

Scott

Comments

• Options
    independent_independent_ Community Champion Posts: 8,615 Legendary Poster
    Hi Scott,

Discovering your sexuality and being comfortable with it is a huge step, so well done for that.