Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Intrusive thoughts

HowDoYouTalkAboutItHowDoYouTalkAboutIt Posts: 54 Boards Initiate
I keep having more frequent and violent intrusive thoughts. How can I manage them and what help can I get with them? I understand they don't define me but they make me snap and react from anger quicker and I don't want to end up hurting someone. 
Tagged:

Comments

• BubblesGoesBooBubblesGoesBoo Posts: 3,590 Community Veteran
    edited March 2020
    hey @HowDoYouTalkAboutIt sorry your struggling with intrusive thoughts, I know the struggle and honestly im still learning how to manage them, some things I have found helpful though are distractions, mainly having a 'depression nap' if im home, talking to someone, and knowing that they will pass, its just a matter of riding them out, im sorry if this isn't much help, I done some work on them in group so ill dig out my folder and have a look for you :)

have you spoken to your gp about them? they may be able to refer you to some talking therapy which I found helpful, just telling someone who wont tell anyone else :) of course were here aswell but are limited to what help we can give, professionals have more help!
    just remember you are never alone <3

Edit: this is what I was looking for and has got me out of many situations related to thoughts, remember HALT.
    H - hungry?
    A - angry?
    L - Lonely?
    T - tired?
    so often our thoughts feed of our emotions/physical feelings, so remember these things when the thoughts creep in, once you know what emotions their feeding of they are easier to battle :)
    ' So I put a bullet where I shouda put a helmet, and I crash my car cause I wanna get carried away, that's why I'm standing on the overpass screaming at myself 'hey, I wanna get better''  
  • SienaSiena Posts: 15,463 Skive's The Limit