Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Don't know if I enjoy my job anymore

slg123slg123 Posts: 4 Newbie
I am currently on sick leave and have been since the end of August and I am not due back till the end of this month.

I find my job very mentally and physically draining as I am a support worker for the elderly and before that I was a health care assistant for nearly 3 years.

I am considering changing careers completely as I work very long hours and have to do a sleep-in once a week so I don't get to see much of my family and I miss my dog when I'm at work.

I feel like I want to do something with animals as I love spending time with them but I have no experience with working with animals so I feel like I will struggle to get a job with them.

Comments

• Gemma1Gemma1 Posts: 123 The Mix Convert
    Hi slg123,

I can see your worry about changing careers, I understand that it must be difficult to be in such a demanding career and feeling isolated from your family and dog while long working hours. 

Have you considered looking at some volunteer work with animals to get some experience in the field? This may also help you decide if it is a career you'd like to pursue.
  • SkiveSkive Posts: 15,282 Skive's The Limit
    If you don't enjoy your job anymore, change it.

It's the thing that you do almost every day, so it's important to at least not hate it.

Working with animals sounds good, but it's something quite a lot of people want to do, and unless you're a vet, it can be hard to find a job that pays very well.
    Weekender Offender 
  • AzzimanAzziman Moderator, Community Champion Posts: 1,826 Extreme Poster
    Hey :)