Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Borderline Personality Disorder? - Maintaining Relationships?

CapreseSaladCapreseSalad Posts: 1 Just got here
edited May 2019 in Sex & Relationships
Hi everyone. I'm new to this whole thing, and haven't yet been officially diagnosed with BPD, but my therapist has suggested that I most likely have it (need more therapy sessions before a proper diagnosis).
I have since been researching BPD and I felt like it fit me to a T. I don't like self-diagnosing, and know I should get proper diagnosing before confirming I have it. These symptoms have been present since around November 2017 (after I was sexually assaulted), and worsened after March last year (when I discovered repressed memories of said assault.) I have always been an overly emotional person growing up.
Anyway, I'm not here for that. I'm here for advice regarding maintaining friendships.
I often find myself self-destructing friendships. Sometimes it'll be over something minor, like an argument or a comment that was said, and I need to know how I can stop this. I need to know how I can stop splitting on everyone. It feels terrible and I often disassociate myself from reality while the splitting happens and then when I come back to reality I feel awful. I'm 16, still at high school, and sometimes it makes for nightmarish situations at school. I really hate this feeling and I've been doing it for over a year now, but never thought about the actual damage and never thought it was because of mental illness. 
Also has anyone taken medication for mood stabilising? How does it affect you? Does it subdue your personality or make you less interesting?

Post edited by Italia on

Comments

• Kathleen07Kathleen07 Posts: 1,938 Extreme Poster