Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Struggling keeping university friendships due to mental health

beth123beth123 Posts: 1 Just got here
Hi,
So I have always had a strong group of friends who have fully understood my mental health problems such as anxiety and depression. They have always been positive support systems and really knew me, so would help me with day to day tasks that they knew would trigger me. 

I am now in my second year of university. The first year ran mostly smoothly with my new friends being aware of my issues but me not letting them show too much. However, lately my mental health has got very bad again and been stopping me do simple everyday tasks such as going to university or cooking my tea.Its also had a huge impact on my mood and my patience. I am fully aware i am not the nicest person to be around at the moment but I cant cope with my feelings.

Anyway lately I have been feeling like i am a really bad person because they get annoyed I am not making an effort with them or say keeping my room as tidy as normal. I then snap and things can escalate. I understand it is frustrating for them and I hate myself for having an effect on them. But I am not sure how to handle this whole situation and sometimes feel it would be better if I moved home and dropped out of uni because i can feel themselves distancing from me. I have never had this struggle with friendships before and did not expect it to happen at age 21. 

Sorry this was mainly just to get my feelings out but any advice would be welcomed. 

Comments

• SienaSiena Posts: 15,463 Skive's The Limit
    Hi @beth123

I am sorry that you feel like you may be losing your friends:(