Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

My job stresses me out when I'm not even there

TheAprilFoolTheAprilFool Posts: 187 Helping Hand
Hello everyone. I would really appreciate any comments I get on this. I think I just need to get this off my chest.

I've been working in a fast food restaurant for two years. I used to only work weekends but in the past year or so I've started working full time during the holidays. It's the only paid work I've ever had. 

The job wasn't so bad at first, other than the fact that I was nervous because I was knew and because one of the managers that worked there at the time wasn't very nice. It didn't matter that I didn't know how to do anything because I was new and I always had a manager or a crew trainer or someone making sure I was doing okay. 

However, things started to go downhill because I never really had the time to complete all of the extra training that I was meant to do online when I wasn't working. Since starting this job I have gone through the stress of finishing my A-levels, moving away from home, and getting through my first year of university. I basically still feel as though I know a lot less than the other people who work there. I often finish my work day feeling humiliated or stupid. There are only a couple of things that I feel confident doing, so I don't get moved around that much and tend to get stuck doing the same things for hours for days in a row.