Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Hello

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I need to write this and get this off my chest more than anything.

I've had a history of self harm and low moods but it's never been this severe.
I was under a considerable amount of stress a few months ago. I'm a student nurse and I'm very close to qualifying. I was finishing up my dissertation and I got stressed. But then I started having panic attacks and they are so physical it's ridiculous. I'm accepting that I'm having them, I'm not avoiding situations yet it keeps happening. Almost like clockwork every night with varying degrees of severity. It's either mild and lingering or a full blown attack where I feel like running away or to the point where I feel like I'm going to just breakdown completely. It feels like my brain can't cope with whats happening to it. I'm waiting till Monday to go back to the doctor. I was given propranolol to help with the physical side and it literally does nothing. I used to meditate and all it does it make me panic more.I'm sort of at the end of my ability to cope with it now. I just don't really understand why it's still happening. I've accepted what the problem is yet it's still affecting me

Comments

• Options
    AliceInWonderlandAliceInWonderland Posts: 18 Settling in
    Hi JamJar52,

Thank you for reaching out, it's really great that you're coming here for support. I'm really sorry to hear that you're going through such a difficult time, it sounds very stressful and scary.