Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

No sound on my laptop

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I've lost the sound on my Toshiba laptop. The sound symbol at the bottom right of the screen has a white x on a red background next to it, which wasn't there before. When I click on the symbol, it doesn't bring up the sound control. I've phoned Toshiba, but they refuse to help me because I don't have a support agreement, which costs a lot. I don't personally know anyone who can help me with this. The guarantee has expired. Does anyone know how I might restore the sound? I've never had this problem before on any computer and I have very little technical knowledge.

Comments

• MaisyMaisy Moderator Posts: 617 Incredible Poster
    Hey Robert,

​Has the sounds come back yet?
    FAQ | How to report a post | How to report spam
    I'm a community moderator. I'm here to help guide discussions and make sure Community Guidelines are followed. I can't send DMs, but you can message @TheMix or email community@themix.org.uk with questions or concerns.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    No, and I still have no idea how to bring it back.
  • CharlotteCharlotte Posts: 229 Trailblazer
    my old dell laptop lots all sound from external speakers worked with headphones plugged in, just wondering how old is the laptop.
    If sound works with headphones, then the speakers physically may be broken, so it's worth trying that first of all to determine whether the issue is physical or not.

​If there's no sound at all, not even with headphones, then it may be a driver issue, which is a bit more complicated to fix but not impossible.