Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

insecure and need advice

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi guys

I'm 25 years old and am getting married next year. However, all excitement is being taken over by how much i hate myself in a wedding dress. I've been told by almost everyone i meet i look 16 - I've even been mistaken for a pupil AT MY JOB and questioned by parents of the pupils i teach if i'm on work experience. I've been teaching for 4 years...

As a result, every wedding dress i try on makes me feel like a teenager playing dress up. I know this probably seems shallow and vain but it's starting to become a massive shadow over the whole planning of the wedding every girl dreams about. It's really getting me down because i genuinely feel ridiculous in a dress. It probably doesn't help that as a teenager i suffered from an eating disorder and reached a size 0 - i'm now a healthy size 8-10 but I've never got rid of the nagging feeling that i've never looked quite right, whether it be my eyebrows, weight, height... even the size of my head (which is small! the smallest graduation hat they do had to be pinned to my head - I'm 5ft 7!). My age being questioned constantly doesn't help... Luckily i have a really supportive partner but i don't want to ruin the wedding experience for him.

Does anyone have any advice for me?

Thanks in advance x x x

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Hello @#skss17 :wave:

Thank you for wanting to share this.