Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Possible PTSD Symptoms?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hey, you can call me Austin. I'm 17 years old and currently in high school. I have been diagnosed with depression without a known cause back in late 2012/early 2013. I believe it was caused by a toxic relationship I was in with a girl that also had depression probably caused by her concussion. I have since then attended therapy for about two years and stopped this fall because I was better off than before the therapy, although I still did not feel 100%, but I felt close enough for my mom to take me off of the therapy.

Other possible causes of the depression include two suicides that happened at my schools, one in eighth grade (2012) with a kid in my grade and one last year with a senior, I was a sophomore. Back when the 2012 one happened, I did not know a thing about suicide or any mental illnesses, I was very uneducated about mental health. I was shocked and did not know how to deal with the incident, as he was only a classmate and not a close friend. That somehow caused several symptoms of depression in me. This past year's incident I dealt with better, but it still lingers in the back of my head, why he did it, who caused it, and so on.

I do not have abusive family members of any kind and I do not associate with drug abusers or alcohol abusers in school. However, I am friends with some band kids I make music with who I feel can become major jerks sometimes, to others and to myself. I had almost all symptoms of depression and kept it secret other than telling my ex-girlfriends who then told my parents.