Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Can employers sack you if you suffer with Mental Health Issues?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi,

I work in a school and have been there since late last year. I have suffered with mental health issues for around 11 years now(I am 18 years old...) but I have had no support in ages now and I'm starting to be affected by my mental health more. My work ethic and performance is not affected while I'm working but if they found out that I suffer with mental health issues, are they allowed to sack me and not have me work there anymore?

Thank you xx

Comments

• Cat88Cat88 Posts: 377 Listening Ear
    Hi AngelFace. No, they can't sack you on that basis. They could only dismiss you if they could prove that your issues were causing a danger or problem within your role, which I'm guessing is very unlikely. And even then it's not as simple as just having time off being an issue, it would have to be a lot more than that.

Have a read of this article on Mental Health at work, I think it will set your mind at ease :)
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Cat88 wrote: »
    Hi AngelFace. No, they can't sack you on that basis. They could only dismiss you if they could prove that your issues were causing a danger or problem within your role, which I'm guessing is very unlikely. And even then it's not as simple as just having time off being an issue, it would have to be a lot more than that.

Have a read of this article on [URL="http://www.thesite.org/work-and-study/workers-rights-and-pay/mental-heHi,
    alth-at-work-1359.html"]Mental Health at work[/URL], I think it will set your mind at ease :)

Hi,

Thank you very much for this reply, it was very helpful and I think I understand a bit better now though I am still worried by it :s

xx