Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Overwhelmed by University

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I am in my second year at uni and I'm feeling overwhelmed. I've been finding my classes really difficult and I'm not understanding them. I've been trying to organise myself but every time I try to sort myself out or try to do work, I get this rush of emotions and then I can't stop crying. I don't know what to do about it.

Can anyone help me?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Cat88Cat88 Posts: 377 Listening Ear
    Hi Kathy, sorry for a slight delay in replying. Firstly, well done for posting on here, we'll offer as much support as we can.

It sounds like there's a lot going on for you, but I'll start with practical advice. Do you have a personal tutor or someone in the department you can talk to? It's their job to help you succeed so please don't be worried about opening up to them and telling them you're struggling and you should be able to get a bit of extra support. There may also be other student support services run by the Student's Union or Welfare Office, so do have a look what's on offer - it is there for you after all.

Can I ask what is different about this year versus your first year? Were you happier then? Has something changed?

If your emotions really are taking over, it could be that something more is going on. It hopefully isn't anything too serious, but have a read of this article about feeling down versus depression and just seen if any of it feels relevant to you.

Either way, try to ensure you're enjoying your personal interests as well as studying, hopefully that can lighten your mood and make the studying less scary.

Keep us updated, we're here for you too.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru