Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Going back to old job

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Right, so, ive been all over the place with my career since i quit my long term job just over a year ago, and i know alot of people will say im too all over the place and am just going back for comfort but i am thinking about going back so i can use the experience and the knowledge i gained and move up.

When i left i was an assistant manager and have been told that i could have gone far. One year and two jobs later I havent gotten anywhere i am happy in and dont really have a 'dream' career. Right now im in a crappy, part time receptionist job and it is not going to help me progress or even afford to be independent. I feel like going back to my old job will allow me to move up, I'll be a manager which means running my own store, deciding my own work week.

Im having some trial shifts to see how i integrate back in, and had my first day today. As much as i feel like this is a good decision to make and i know that i can handle it and can do the job well, there's always the niggling feeling of why i quit in the first place. Im actually going through a time at the moment where i re-think and doubt everything so maybe this is part of that. Or maybe there's a reason im having doubts?

Would it be stupid to go back to this or does it make sense to do something that you know you can do and fairly enjoy doing (i like the interaction with other staff and customers, and the sense of prise when you're running a store and essentially a business by yourself)

Comments

• plugitinplugitin Posts: 2,197 Boards Champion
    Hey Lexi,
    I was just wondering whether there was there a certain career path you had in mind when you left your old job nearly a year ago?