Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Little experience and huge career gap due to illness

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I've been Helping MrRiot do his CV to apply for some better positions and I realised I haven't done anything to my CV since leaving Uni because I became unwell very soon after and haven't been able to work since 2011. I did do a part time course in that time (in make up artistry) and I'm going back to Uni in September to do my masters but if I'm well enough then I really need to do some part time work as well. But I have very little experience in anything - I've done 6 weeks admin work and 3 months retail since I was 16. I've got a whole load of education I can add on to my CV but asides helping my mum with her business on and off over the years for an hour here and there I haven't really got much else to put...how can I explain 4 years of being unwell? I wanted to be a part time librarian but I can't carry loads of books about the place :(

Comments

• Danny!Danny! Deactivated Posts: 560 Incredible Poster
    Hi Miss_Riot

I can understand that feels difficult, but it sounds like you've done what you can when you can, which is a really positive thing to be able to say.

In a lot of cases, it's fine to explain four years of being unwell as just that. If it comes up in interview, let them know that you've been studying and still done some work, and now you're ready to do more.

I would write up helping your Mum with her business as a job too. Just as you would another job - the time period your work covers (weekly hours don't matter unless you're asked explicitly), what tasks you've carried out, what skills you've learned that you can take to the job you're applying for.