Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Problems at Uni

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I'm in my first year at uni and have found things to be quite difficult. I'd always liked education and decided uni would be a good thing for me. However i have now encountered issues that have caused me to feel that i no longer want to be at uni. I live in rented accommodation rather than halls and my house mates are awful, i can't sleep at night and i have to do everything around the house because otherwise it never gets done. Secondly, i am doing a combined course which i am severely struggling with. I've felt so under pressure lately and even had a breakdown a few days ago. Ok it doesn't sound too bad but I just have no idea what to do or who to talk to.

Any help?
x
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    First things first. Deep breath and relax. You're not the only one in this position - and despite all outwards impressions, lots of people find the first year of uni hard.

Do you have a personal tutor? They might just be called a tutor, depending on how your uni system works. Set up some time to have a chat with them, or they might have a drop in session and tell them what's going on. Talking through the problems you're having with the course side of things with them might help things settle down on that front pretty quickly. Often there are extra explanation sessions, or support or coaching available on certain topics - but it's not always obvious how to access this. There may also be some study skills support available which could help you get into the swing of the uni way of working.

What are you studying? You might find some people on here can help with some more specific tips if you want to try asking.