Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Occupatons to AVOID!!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi guys,

I have had some different experiences in the past few years and discovered that some occupations should be avoided like the plague. Think about it carefully!!

I had 6 months where I was doing commission based jobs in which people were ripping each other off - I have discovered people will do anything to get money these days! If receiving benefits was not so difficult these days I probably would have been unemployed for those 6 months. I would encourage you to carefully think about any occupation you go into and believe me ploys and deception will be used to get you into those occupations (telling you a job is highly paid when it is not)!! In the past 8 years I have been unemployed for 2 years so being unemployed for 6 months would have been a nice rest!!

Make notes guys, you will never remember everything!! I was a canvasser for the two big Home improvement companies in the UK. I came to know drug dealers, armed robbers, have been threatened because I would not lend people money and it might result in my death. This is because the government will not allow anyone to claim benefits these days.

Be warned guys!! I decided to go to university and it has resulted in me having threats made against me, being 30K in debt, never owning my own home or having children. Really think about how things can effect others things....it's usually about money!! Bargaining power will mean your employers will not treat you like crap! Don't let people you work for know you need money!!

Occupations to avoid
Any commission based jobs, even if it means going hungry
Any jobs where you make enemies with criminals
Consider why changes have been made to that occupation
Is there much secrecy or corruption within the company?